Estou indo para casa ( I’m going to home)

Today I met a friend for a few beers on a well hidden and typical British pub and that I love. Among many pints of beer, we talked about life, future, memories and in the middle of our conversation, he interrupted me and asked: – How are you feeling?
Surprised at the question outside the context of the dialogue, I stopped, took a breath and a few tears appearing without I wait and I said – Honestly? I do not know.
Funny, because I quite frankly! I do not know what I’m feeling right now. There are seven days to return home after a year living in London, I say I’m happy to be back (even for a few days!) To see my family, my friends, the places you love in São Paulo, eat Brazilian food (I love!), kiss my nephews until they ask me to stop, these are things that make me feel very happy to be coming home.
On the other hand the feeling of sadness to say goodbye to the city that welcomed me with so much love, friends I made here, the places I visited, the cafes that I love so much, the experiences I had. It hurts a lot! It’s like turning the last page that my favorite book and find THE END, you feel so empty and starts to miss the characters. That’s exactly how I feel when I think it’s time to go home.
It’s like asking dessert and leave the restaurant before you eat. In a city like London you will never be forgotten, but you are easily replaced. I can already imagine someone seeing an empty place at the table and take my place, they will drink my coffee with nutmeg and eating my croissant with butter, they will chat with my friends while making plans for next weekend or holidays, will be discussing summer in Europe. They will go deciding to visit the latest exhibition of some incredible museum or deciding about meeting the new bar that opened on the corner of your homes. A beautiful, crazy and annoying London life will continue, but the only difference is that I’ll be more here to live it.
(Just a small addendum before continuing! Yes, I got a job, I’m going back to UK, but not to London. This becomes be most interesting and even more exciting!).
What do you feel when you live in London? Definitely at home!
No more Sainsbury’s to save me my dinner in late in the night, or the charity shopping with your dresses for one pounds, the flats from Primark for 3 pounds. I’ll laugh when I remember about cutting my bangs on the bathroom sink before going to work to save money, forget how difficult it was to deal with homesickness and loneliness I felt a few times and as I never mastered the art of dressing for the London weather. No more Walkabout on Monday to dance Michel Telo and drink tequila for two pounds! No more winks to the bartender of the pub which I have chosen the backyard of my house in Earls Court. No more chicken mayo at two in the morning! No more sushi at Wasabi for 1.20 pounds. Not to mention the gravy, even in that salad! No more going to the supermarket in my pajamas.
I’ll miss getting lost among the subway lines. And the smart way I learned to read the Evening Standard in a crowded subway. Drinking endless cups of tea and experience the best place for a burger in east London.
I will miss the peaceful green parks lost in the city who always invite you to sit under a tree and remain silent, fine buildings .. cheap clothes. Bottles of wine, beer, whiskey, and what else we found cheap at the supermarket with my roommates. Art exhibitions, theater shows, comedy shows, bars, restaurants, clubs …
But most of all I’ll miss the cold days of London and long walks through the long streets of London with all the music in my ears.
Here a while, I know, I’ll laugh at all the ridiculous adventures; hungover mornings spent in my bed, days to chase squirrels in Hyde Park for photos. Of the many texts that I wrote while I lived here, the great friends I made.
And I had this flash in tears while trying to explain to my friend how I felt. And wiping the tears I remembered a phrase that says: “You will never feel completely at home again because part of your heart will always belong elsewhere This is the price you pay for the richness of loving and knowing people in more of a country. ”
Love you London, but I’ll have to leave you. But you know what? You’re mad, eccentric, gray, cold and extremely expensive. A fun and ridiculous place and will always have a part of my heart.

—-

Hoje encontrei um amigo para algumas cervejas em um pub bem escondido e daquele típico britânico que eu adoro. Entre muitos pints de cerveja, conversamos sobre a vida, futuro, lembranças e no meio da nossa louca conversa ele me interrompeu e perguntou:  – Como você está se sentindo?

Surpresa com a pergunta fora do contexto do diálogo, eu parei, respirei e entre algumas lágrimas que apareceram sem eu esperar eu respondi:  – Sinceramente? Não sei.

Engraçado, porque fui completamente sincera! Eu não sei o que estou sentindo neste momento. Há sete dias para voltar para casa depois de um ano vivendo em Londres, eu digo que estou feliz de voltar (mesmo que por poucos dias!) ver minha família, meus amigos, os lugares que amo em São Paulo, comer a comida brasileira (que amo!), beijar meus sobrinhos até eles pedirem para eu parar, são essas coisas que me fazem sentir muito feliz por estar voltando para casa.

Por outro lado o sentimento de tristeza de dizer adeus a cidade que me acolheu com tanto amor, aos amigos que fiz aqui, os lugares que visitei, os cafés que tanto amo, as experiências que tive. Dói, e muito! É como virar a ultima pagina daquele seu livro favorito e encontrar o THE END, você se sente tão vazia e começa a sentir falta dos personagens. Isso, exatamente isso que sinto quando penso que está na hora de voltar para casa.

É como pedir sobremesa e deixar o restaurante antes que ela chegue. Em uma cidade como Londres você nunca será esquecido, mas você é facilmente substituído. Já consigo imaginar alguém vendo um lugar vazio na mesa e tomar o meu lugar, eles vão beber meu café com noz moscada, comer meu croissant com manteiga e conversar com meus amigos enquanto fazem planos para o próximo fim de semana ou estarão discutindo as férias de verão na Europa. Decidindo visitar a mais recente exposição de algum museu incrível ou decidindo sobre conhecer o novo bar que foi aberto na esquina da sua casa. A linda, louca e irritante vida de Londres vão continuar, mas a única diferença é que eu estarei mais aqui para vivê-la.

(Apenas um pequeno adendo antes de continuar! Sim, eu consegui um emprego, estou voltando para UK, mas não para Londres o que deixa meu retorno mais interessante e ainda mais excitante!).

O que voce sente quando vive em Londres? Definitivamente em casa!

Eu  não  vou mais ter o Sainsbury´s para me salvar meu jantar na madrugada, ou o charity shopping e os vestidos de um pounds, a sapatilha da Primark por 3 pounds que desmacharam na primeira chuva que tomei.  Eu vou rir quando penso que cortei minha franja na pia do banheiro antes de ir trabalhar para poupar dinheiro,  esquecer como  foi difícil lidar com a saudade e solidão que sentia algumas vezes e  como eu nunca dominei a arte de se vestir para o clima londrino. Não mais Walkabout de segunda-feira para dançar Michel Teló e beber tequila por dois pounds! Não mais piscar para o barman do pub que elegi o quintal da minha casa em Earls Court. Não mais chicken mayo às duas da manhã! Não mais sushis de 1,20 no Wasabi. Sem falar do gravy, que como até na salada! Não mais ir ao supermercado de pijamas.

Vou sentir falta de me perder entre as linhas do metrô. E da maneira esperta que aprendi de ler o Evening Standard em um metro lotado. Beber intermináveis ​​xícaras de chá e conhecer o melhor lugar para um hamburguer no leste de Londres.

Vou sentir falta dos parques verdes pacíficos perdidos no meio da cidade que sempre te convidam a sentar embaixo de uma arvore e ficar em silencio, dos  belos edifícios antigos.. Roupas baratas. Garrafas de vinho, cerveja, whisky e o que mais encontrávamos barato no supermercado com os meus colegas de apartamento. As exposições de arte, espetáculos teatrais, shows de comédia, bares, restaurantes, clubes…

Mas acima de tudo eu vou sentir falta dos dias frios de Londres e das longas caminhadas pelas longas ruas de toda Londres com a música em meus ouvidos.

Daqui um tempo, eu sei, eu vou rir de todas as aventuras ridículas; das manhãs de ressaca gasto em aeroportos, limpando os móveis do nosso apartamento para sediar festas, dos dias que persegui esquilos para fotos em Hyde Park.  Dos muitos textos que escrevi enquanto vivi aqui, dos grandes amigos que fiz.

E foi esse flash que tive enquanto em lágrimas tentava explicar ao meu amigo como eu me sentia. E enxugando as lágrimas eu me lembrei de uma frase que diz: “Você nunca vai se sentir completamente em casa novamente porque parte de seu coração pertencerá sempre a outro lugar. Este é o preço que você paga pela riqueza de amar e conhecer pessoas em mais de um país.”

Te amo Londres, mas vou ter que te deixar. Mas quer saber? Você é louca, excêntrica, cinza, fria e extremamente cara, um  lugar divertido e ridículo e sempre terá uma parte do meu coração.

 

 

Leave a Reply

